Sunday, November 24, 2013

Field Hockey Champions

Congratulations to Shippensburg University's field hockey team, which tonight brought home the schools first NCAA national championship trophy in any sport:
The fate of the 2013 NCAA Division II Field Hockey Championship rested Sunday afternoon on the stick of Shippensburg University All-American senior forward Bre White.
Convert a penalty stroke – five minutes into sudden-death overtime – and win a national championship...
White converted right side through a small window between the outstretched left arm and left leg of the LIU Post goalkeeper as SU knocked off the previously-unbeaten Pioneers, 2-1, on a chilly, windy afternoon at the L.R. Hill Sports Complex on the campus of Old Dominion University.
Shippensburg's nine-member senior class – White, Katie Shoop, Carenna Neely, Taylor Bender, Lauren Taylor, Danielle Proctor, Brynn Seidenstricker, Megan Jett and Brittany Jett – conclude an historic four-year run with a 75-10 record, three appearances in the NCAA Semifinals, two appearances in the NCAA Championship Game and one NCAA Championship.
The team's final record on the year is 20-1.

Labels: ,


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home